Pattern-breakers honoured at the 17 June celebration

The annual celebration at Business and Social Science on Friday 17 June 2011 also included an academic session, announcement of ‘Alumni of the Year” and winners of the ‘Young Researcher Award’. Several of the receivers were pattern-breakers.

2011.06.24 | Cecilie Holmgaard Petersen

On Friday 17 June 2011, Business and Social Sciences held the first annual celebration for employees and reunion day for alumni. The event formed part of the celebration of Tomorrow’s AU to mark the new organization and a more coherent university. The programme offered both an academic session in the afternoon focussing on ’Research Talent at Business and Social Sciences’ and celebration dinner in the evening.

The academic session took place in the afternoon at the Lakeside Lecture Theatres, and this session also included announcement of ’Alumni of 2011’ and winners of ‘Young Researcher Award 2011’.

- It is important to acknowledge the significance of our alumni to our organization, and the main purpose of appointing ’Alumni of the Year’ is to recognize the value of the work that our alumni do as ambassadors for us. We have appointed two ‘Alumni of the Year’ in 2011 and both of these alumni can be characterized as pattern-breakers in different ways, says Frank Pedersen, Vice-Dean of Knowledge Exchange at Business and Social Sciences.

Ambassador Ulrik Federspiel, MSc in Political Science (cand.scient.pol.) of 1970 and Director of Jyske Bank Niels Erik Jakobsen, MSc in Economics and Business Administration (cand.merc.) of 1987 were both appointed ‘Alumni of 2011’. The two alumni awards were presented by Frank Pedersen, Vice-Dean of Knowledge Exchange.

The ’Young Researcher Award 2011’ was granted to Irene Pollach of the Department of Business Communication and Kim Christensen of the Department of Economics and Business. Per Baltzer Overgaard, Vice-Dean of Research and Talent Development at Business and Social Sciences presented the two young winners with the grants.

Read the Dean’s Executive Team’s motivations for the 2011 appointments


More information

Frank Pedersen

Vice-Dean of Knowledge Exchange


Tel.: (+45) 8948 6423

Aarhus BSS