Revalidation

Revalidation has been activated for a 6-months trail period. We expect revalidation to remain active after the trail, unless Revalidation has unwanted sideeffects.

Revalidation enables editors and regular users in Pure to modify publications after the publication has been validated by the Pure team. The purpose is to avoid that corrections of minor errors have to be handled as support cases.

Even though it is possible to correct data, we still encourage everybody to be diligent and supply complete and correct information before submitting the publication the first time around.

We will continuously monitor the volume of publications for revalidation during the trail. However, we will not revalidate the publications before the trail ends March 1, 2020.

Changes that trigger revalidation

Changes to the following fields trigger revalidation:

  • Publication status
  • Publication date (month, day or year)
  • Submission year
  • Title (Publication title in original language)
  • Subtitle (Publication subtitle in original language)
  • Number of pages
  • Contributors (Authors and editors) - add/remove
  • Contributors’ (Authors and editors) affiliations with organizations
  • Managing organizational unit (of the publication)
  • Publisher
  • Journal
  • Volume/Issue
  • ISBN (print) version
  • ISBN (online) version
  • Links (DOI, other links)
  • Main research area

Guide for personal users


It is you as personal user or editor who initiates the revalidation process. When you edit a publication that has already been validated and save your changes by clicking "Save"

the workflow status for the publication changes automatically to "For revalidation".

The publication will have the status "For revalidation" untill the Pure team has revalidated it.

You can edit and save changes as many times as you wish, but you cannot change the workflow status to "For revalidation" or revert to "Validated" manually.

In the publication list view the publication has been flagged with "Revalidate".

When the publication has been revalidated the flag disappears, and workflow status is changed back to "Validated".

You will NOT be notified that your publication has been revalidated.


Please note:

  • Revalidation takes place without notifications to users to avoid unecessary noise. Therefore, you are not notified when AU Pure team has revalidated your publication.
  • Some corrections are rejected, but for a good reason, and you may not be notified. However, the majority of corrections are accepted.
  • You are unable to see whether a publication with the status "Validated" just has been validated for the first time, or if it has been validated and subsequently revalidated after you made changes to it.
  • Even a small correction like changing a letter from lower to upper case in the publication title triggers revalidation. However, that should not prevent you from making any necessary correction.