Professor Kenneth J. Meier

Kenneth J. Meier

Professor Kenneth J. Meier has been awarded an honorary doctorate from Aarhus University for his pre-eminent research work within public administration. He has made a major difference in this field and hence to our understanding of leadership and performance in public organisations.

Kenneth J. Meier uses institutional theories of policy to understand who does what, when and how. His research projects have covered a wide range of subjects, including education policy, research governance, access to abortion and family planning, gay rights, narcotics and alcohol policy, corruption, agricultural policy, health policy, public trust, child safety, gun control, tobacco policy, sexual abuse, gender and bureaucracy.

Kenneth J. Meier combines excellent research, international collaboration and prolific academic publication with acting as a role model and mentor for junior researchers. He has also held many honorary positions, including president of the Public Management Research Association and editor of top international journals such as the American Journal of Political Science. Kenneth J. Meier has received wide recognition for his work and received a number of prominent awards.

Aarhus University benefits greatly from Kenneth J. Meier’s joint projects with local researchers. Among other things, he has worked with this year’s recipient of the Aarhus University Anniversary Foundation Research Communication Prize, Lotte Bøgh Andersen.

Curriculum Vitae (highlights)


PhD in Political Science from the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University, 1975

MA in Political Science from the same institution, 1974

Current positions:

Professor of Public Administration in the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University 2017 -

Professor of Public Management at Cardiff University School of Business 2004 -

Selected prizes:

H. George Frederickson Award

C. Dwight Waldo Award

John Gaus Award

Charles Levone Award

Association of Former Students Award for Research