The Aarhus University Anniversary Foundation Research Communication Prize 2013

The university’s researchers have a special responsibility to bring their knowledge into the public arena and contribute to an informed public debate. This is not always an easy task, as it often involves complex problems, which nonetheless must be communicated in clear terms. Fortunately, there are researchers who not only succeed in doing this but who also do so in many different contexts.

Each year since 2006, Aarhus University has awarded the DKK 100,000 Aarhus University Anniversary Foundation Prize of Honour for Research Communication to recognise researchers who have made a special contribution to research communication. This year, the prize goes to professor of economics Philipp Schröder. Will you please step forward.


Dear Philipp,

You have produced relevant and vivid research dissemination for many years now on a variety of topics, including globalisation and export. You are always ready to contribute your expert knowledge to the news media, and you are engaged in an ongoing dialogue with politicians and the business community. Last but not least, you are a very hard-working and popular public speaker in a variety of contexts.

Each time you contribute to the public debate in one way or another, you do so in clear, understandable language and with a high level of research integrity. Qualities which I know are also greatly appreciated by your students in your teaching.

Thank you for your efforts and congratulations with the prize!


Philipp Schröder – CURRICULUM VITAE
Professor ved Institut for Økonomi, Aarhus Universitet

Education and appointments

2009  - Professor, Department of Economics and Business, Aarhus University

2007 – 2009 Professor (MSO), Department of Economics, Aarhus School of Business, Aarhus University

2003-2007 Associate Professor, Aarhus School of Business

2001-2003 Senior Economist, DIW Berlin - The German Institute for Economic Research, Department of International Economics

1999 PhD (Econ), Aarhus University

1994 MSc (Econ), University of Warwick


Prizes and Awards

2010 Winner of ForskerFight 2010 – Researcher competition on communicating research

results, Aarhus University

2008 Teacher of the Year 2008 – Aarhus School of Business, Aarhus University