Honorary doctorates

In connection with the annual celebration, Aarhus University confers honorary doctorates on researchers from other institutions with whom the university enjoys a particularly close and valued working relationship.

These working relationships include research, teaching and professional networks, and contribute to establishing strong links between Aarhus University and cutting-edge international research.

Aarhus University's first honorary doctor was appointed in 1946. Since 2011, this honour has been conferred on to a prominent researcher at each of the five faculties at Aarhus University.