Five AU PhD graduates receive AUFF’s talent prizes

An anthropologist, a medical doctor, a psychologist, a theoretical chemist and a software engineer. Five talented recent PhD graduates received Aarhus University Research Foundation PhD prizes, which were conferred for the twentieth time. The awards were conferred at the AU awards ceremony on Wednesday 25 May.

Five recent PhD graduates received AUFF PhD prizes in recognition of their achievements.
Five recent PhD graduates received AUFF PhD prizes in recognition of their achievements. From left to right: Niels Kristian Kjærgaard Madsen (Dept. of Chemistry), Niloofar Yazdani (Dept. of Electrical and Compute r Engineering), Charlotte Etterup Christiansen (School of Culture and Society), Kasper Glerup Lauridsen (Department of Clinical Medicine) and Mai Bjørnskov Mikkelsen (Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences)

AUFF’s talent prizes recognise newly minted PhD graduates whose work in their fields and their success in communicating their results have received extraordinary recognition. Each prize-winner will receive DKK 50,000.

Their work offers society valuable new knowledge on the value of reading groups for young people with mental health challenges;  the treatment of cardiac arrest at hospitals; emotional development in adults; the development of quantum chemistry methods; and efficient IoT data transfer.

The winners are:

Charlotte Ettrup Christiansen: Social anthropology
Mai Bjørnskov Mikkelsen: Emotion research
Kasper Glerup Lauridsen: In-hospital cardiac arrest
Niels Kristian Kjærgård Madsen: Development of quantum chemistry methods
Niloofar Yazdani: Computer technology

Read more about the winners 

Watch videos (in danish):


The PhD prizes were conferred at the Aarhus University awards ceremony on 25 May, in addition to the Rigmor and Carl Holst-Knudsen Award for Scientific Research and the Victor Albeck Award.