Three Centers of Excellence to be established at Aarhus University

The Danish National Research Foundation has chosen to support 11 new Centers of Excellence – and three of them will be set up at Aarhus University. The three new centres will conduct ground-breaking and innovative research to help maintain Denmark’s position as one of the world’s leading research nations.

What are the clouds hiding? How can we combat viral infections, and how can we ensure that our planet is worth living on in the future? These are the big and relevant questions that researchers in the new Centers of Excellence at AU will endeavour to answer.

The three centers and their directors are:

The Center for the Chemistry of Clouds (C3), Professor Merete Bilde.

The Center for Ecological Dynamics in a Novel Biosphere (ECONOVO), Professor Jens-Christian Svenning.

The Center for the Immunology of Viral Infections (CiViA), Professor Søren Riis Paludan.

Each centre can potentially receive up to approx. DKK 60 million, and the applicants will now be invited to enter final contract negotiations with the Danish National Research Foundation.