You are here: AU  Staff  Organisation and management University elections

Elections at AU

  • 12-15 november 2018
  • The election is over. Thank you for voting.

18,49% voted for the election.

The election results are made public on this page 19. November.

You can vote and stand for election to the following:

This year, students can vote and stand for election to the AU board, the Academic Council, the PhD committees and the boards of studies. 

Representatives will be elected to the four PhD committees at AU. Employed as well as non-employed PhD students can vote and stand for election to the PhD committees. Enrolled, but not employed, PhD students can also vote and stand for election to the Academic Council and to the AU board.  Master’s degree students, who are also enrolled in a PhD programme, can vote and stand for election to the boards of studies.

Academic council

According to the Danish University Act, the academic council must ensure the co-determination and involvement of staff and students in decision-making processes concerning academic issues.

The tasks of the academic council are as follows:

  • Making of recommendations to the Rector on the internal distribution of funds
  • Making of recommendations to the Rector on central strategic research questions and educational issues and plans for knowledge exchange
  • Making of recommendations on the composition of academic committees assessing applicants for academic positions
  • Awarding PhD and doctoral degrees
  • Other tasks as set out in the university statutes

The academic council comprises representatives of the academic staff, including employed PhD students and student representatives.

Members of the council are elected by and from the academic staff, the PhD students and the student body.

Board of studies

The board of studies is an elected body which, in collaboration with the director of studies and the AU studies administration, manages courses and exams.

You must contact your board of studies if you want to apply for exemptions to rules, credit transfer, preliminary approval of courses in other places (including when studying abroad) or any other deviation from the academic regulations or the decisions concerning exams.

The board of studies also provides input and proposes changes to the academic regulations, ensures that the programme develops its course offerings and teaching, and follows up on course evaluations.

The board of studies comprises an equal number of academic staff and student representatives, so this is also where you as student can influence your the conditions of your studies.

Find your local board of studies on your subject portal.

The Aarhus University Board

The board is Aarhus University’s highest authority, and its mandate is to promote the university’s interests as an institution of research and education. The board determines the framework for the university's organisation and sets long-term goals for its activities and development.

Pursuant to the university’s Articles of Association, the University Board consists of eleven members. Two members are elected by and from academic staff, one member is elected by and from the technical/administrative staff, two members are elected by and from the university’s full-time students and the remaining six members are external.

PhD Committee

The main tasks of PhD committee are:

  • Approve PhD courses
  • Draw up drafts of internal guidelines for the PhD school
  • Recommend the composition of the assessment committee

The PhD committee is composed of:

  • Representatives of the academic personnel, whom are elected for 3 years at a time
  • Representatives of the PhD students, whom are elected for 1 year at a time

In the current election circular, you can see the number of members to be elected by your PhD committee.

Uncontested elections and cancelled elections

Some elections are already decided - either by being uncontested or cancelled:

Documents are in Danish only.

Final candidate list

Time schedule

Friday 17 August 2018
Deadline for the faculties to inform the Election Secretariat on how these bodies should be composed with regard to the number of mandates, representation areas etc. for the individual election groups.

Monday 20 August - Monday 10 September 2018
Drafting of election circular including comments from faculties on text.

Tuesday 18 September 2018
Deadline for approval of final version of circular by the Election Committee.

Wednesday 19 September - Friday 21 September 2018
The election circular is published at

Monday 1 October 2018
Cut-off date for voting rights and eligibility.

Friday 5 October - Monday 8 October 2018
Election lists of all eligible voters are published on to allow objections to be lodged.

Friday 12 October 2018 at 12:00 noon
Deadline for objection to the published election lists.

Monday 15 October - Wednesday 17 October 2018
The final election lists are posted at

Thursday 18 October 2018 at 9:00
Period for nomination of candidates begins.

Friday 26 October 2018 at 12:00 noon
Deadline for nomination of candidates.

Monday 29. October - Wednesday 31 October 2018
Candidate lists are published at to allow objections to be lodged.

Thursday 1 November 2018 at 12:00 noon
Deadline for entering into list pacts and electoral pacts.

Friday 2 November - Monday 5 November 2018
List pacts and electoral pacts are published.

Sunday 4 November 2018
Cut-off date for voting rights and eligibility

Wednesday 7 November 2018 at 12:00 noon
Deadline for objections to candidates as well as list pacts and electoral pacts.

Thursday 8 November - Friday 9 November 2018
Announcement of cancellation of elections in case of uncontested elections. Posted at

Thursday 8 November - Friday 9 November 2018
Final lists of candidates posted at

Monday 12 November at 9:00 - Thursday 15 November 2018 at 16:00

Elections held.

Friday 16 November 2018
Votes counted.

Monday 19 November - Wednesday 21 November 2018
Deadline for announcement of election results. However, the election results will be announced as soon as they are known.

Thursday 29 November 2018 at 12:00 noon
Deadline for complaints regarding the elections.

Friday 1 February 2019
Newly elected members take up office.

268130 / i40