Two accreditation visits this autumn

No less than two accreditation panels will be visiting Aarhus BSS this autumn. On 19-21 September, the school will be welcoming the EFMD panel, responsible for the EQUIS accreditation, and on 11-12 October, the AMBA panel.

No less than two accreditation panels will be visiting Aarhus BSS this autumn. Graphics: Didde Trolle, Aarhus BSS Communication

Aarhus BSS is facing a busy and exciting autumn. In September and October, the school will be welcoming the two international accreditation panels from EFMD, responsible for the EQUIS accreditation, and AMBA. Both panels can look forward to a busy few days where they will be meeting up with the faculty management team, employees, alumni, employers and students on a number of degree programmes.

The visits will form the basis of the accreditation panels’ subsequent decisions on whether or not Aarhus BSS can maintain its current international EQUIS and AMBA accreditations.

What is EQUIS?

EQUIS stands for European Quality Improvement System, and accreditation is awarded every three or five years by the EFMD (European Foundation of Management Development), whose members comprise leading business schools all over the world. In 2014, Aarhus BSS achieved a three-year EQUIS accreditation for the school’s business activities i.e. the Department of Management, the Department of Economics and Business Economics and the former Department of Business Communication. This year, the aim is to achieve a full accreditation that covers the entire school.

The visiting EFMD panel consists of the following four people:

Professor Robert A. Buckle: Vice-Chancellor and former Dean at Victoria Business School (Faculty of Commerce), Victoria University of Wellington in New Zealand. Robert A. Buckle is the chairman of the EQUIS panel.

Professor Metka Tekavcic: Dekan at the Faculty of Economics at the University of Ljubljana.

Professor Alistair Bruce: Dean at Nottingham University Business School in the UK.

Neslihan Tozge:  Founder and chair of Blue Ocean Consulting. Also a member of the Advisory Board at the Business School of Turkey.

What is AMBA?

AMBA stands for the Association of MBAs, and here the school’s MBA programmes are in focus. AMBA has existed since 1967 and accredits MBA, DBA (Doctor of Business Administration) and MBM (Master of Business and Management) programmes at over 200 business schools in more than 70 countries.

The AMBA panel also consists of four people:

Dr Philip McLaughlin: Former Acting Dean and Executive Director, KEDGE Business School in France Philip McLaughlin chairs the AMBA panel.

Dr Ari Manninen: Director of Executive Education, University of Jyväskylä School of Business and Economics in Finland.

Professor Elena Zoubkova: Former Vice Rector, Moscow International Higher Business School, Russia

Joseph Pilkington:  Accreditation Officer at AMBA.