News from the Senior Management Team no. 2/2013

New framework for nanoscience

Nanoscience now has its own dedicated building at Aarhus University.

The building is designed and equipped to ensure optimum working conditions for researchers and students.

iNANO was established in 2002 as an interdisciplinary research centre, so nano students and researchers have not previously had the opportunity to work together on the same premises. Now, in addition to far better laboratory facilities, there are much better possibilities for knowledge sharing and sparring between one another, which is all part of giving the field the best possible conditions for further development.

The iNANO house was officially inaugurated on 16 January. The building is situated on Langelandsgade in Aarhus, just north of the former barracks.

AU researcher receives prestigious award in China

On Friday 18 January, future President Xi Jinping bestowed the highest Chinese honour within the natural sciences, the International Science and Technology Cooperation Award of the People's Republic of China, on Flemming Besenbacher, Professor in Nanoscience at Aarhus University and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Carlsberg A/S and the Carlsberg Foundation.

In recent years, Professor Flemming Besenbacher has received several of the most prestigious Chinese honorary awards for the contribution he has made to strengthening research collaboration between Denmark and China. He also holds honorary doctorates at ten Chinese universities.

Extra recognition for young talents

Six research talents from Aarhus University have been given an extra pat on the shoulder in the form of Sapere Aude grants from the Danish Council for Independent Research.

The grants are given to the most promising young researchers who in the past year have received postdoc scholarships from the research council.

The six recipients are:

  • Casper Bindzus Foldager, Department of Clinical Medicine
  • Christian Kanstrup Holm, Department of Biomedicine
  • Emma Tina Bisgaard Olesen, Department of Biomedicine
  • Eva Arnspang Christensen, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
  • Kathrin Weyer, Department of Biomedicine
  • Maria Andreasen, iNANO

Since Sapere Aude was established in 2010, 123 of the so-called Step 1 DFF-Young Elite Researcher grants for talented young researchers at postdoc level at Danish universities have been awarded. Of these, 32 have gone to researchers at Aarhus University.

Under the Sapere Aude research career programme, grants are also awarded to associate professors (Step 2) and professors (Step 3).

As of 1 January 2013, the Danish Council for Independent Research's five scientific research councils have several new members. See an up-to-date list of members of the councils.

Maersk Oil financing professorship at Department of Geoscience

Aarhus University has just signed an agreement with Maersk Oil on extending seismology research and education together.

The agreement sees Maersk Oil financing a five-year professorship with the university providing supplementary funding so that the existing research environment for seismology is expanded. At the same time, it has been agreed that the university and Maersk Oil will promote mutual knowledge exchange to benefit research, but in particular for the sake of the students and their career opportunities.


The Senior Management Team publishes a newsletter every week. This newsletter includes a brief description of current activities and discussions. You can sign up for the Danish version of the newsletter at, after which you will receive an e-mail whenever the newsletter is issued.

If you would like to subscribe to the English version of News from the Senior Management Team, please go to The English version of News from the Senior Management Team is available at You can read previous editions of News from the Senior Management Team at