Days off with pay

The following days are paid holidays at Aarhus University:

  • Christmas Eve, 24 December
  • New Year’s Eve, 31 December
  • Denmark’s Constitution Day, 5 June

These three days are not public holidays, so they are not days off under collective agreements. The university is closed on these days, but units where there is a need for activity, e.g. tending to people, animals, experiments and technology, remain open with the required number of people at work. Employees who are on duty on these days are compensated with time off on other days in accordance with the applicable rules on working hours.

Employees at Aarhus University can take 1 May off with pay, by agreement with their immediate superior if, in their superior’s opinion, the work situation permits.

Danish public holidays:

  • New Year's Day, 1 January
  • Holy Thursday
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Ascension Day (Kristi Himmelfartsdag)
  • Whit Monday (2. pinsedag)
  • Christmas Day, 25 December
  • 2nd Day og Christmas, 26 December