Internal peer review at Aarhus BSS

In November 2017, the faculty management team introduced a compulsory internal peer review scheme at the school to enhance the quality of applications and thereby increase the success rate in relation to the following elite instruments:

  • Sapere Aude: Independent Research Fund Denmark - Research Director
  • ERC (Starting Grant, Consolidator Grant, Advanced Grant, and from 2019 also Synergy Grant)
  • Danish National Research Foundation’s grant call of new Centres of Excellence
  • Large applications to private Danish funds

The aim of the scheme is to help you as an applicant present your project as strongly as possible to the applicable instrument’s assessors. In the internal peer review process, you get to present you application to three reviewers: one from your own department (preliminary assessor) and two whose key academic competence are unrelated to your own.

The internal peer review panel consists of senior-level academic staff with previous experience as assessors.

Members of the internal peer review panel

  • Professor George Xydis (BTECH)
  • Professor Nabanita Datta Gupta (ECON)
  • Professor Helena Skyt Nielsen (ECON)
  • Professor Eric Hillebrand (ECON)
  • Professor Klaus G. Grunert (MGMT)
  • Professor Irene Pollach (MGMT)
  • Professor Lars Frederiksen (MGMT)
  • Professor Christoffer Green-Pedersen (PS)
  • Professor Jens Blom-Hansen (PS)
  • Professor Kees Van Kersbergen (PS)
  • Professor Dorthe Berntsen (PSY)
  • Professor Bobby Zachariae (PSY)
  • Lektor Esben Houborg (PSY)
  • Professor Tine Sommer (LAW)
  • Lektor Katerina Mitkidis (LAW)
  • Professor Ole Windahl Pedersen (LAW)

As August 2023

The peer review process

The department is responsible for screening the applicants for an internal review and ensure feedback from peers within the applicant’s academic field in good time before the internal peer review takes place.  The initial quality assurance at the department will be the responsibility of one of the departments reviewers from the internal peer review panel who will thus act as the preliminary assessor.

As a rule, the internal review will take place three to six weeks before the application deadline. Three reviewers will be used for each application: one from the applicant’s own department (preliminary assessor) and two whose key academic competence are unrelated to the applicant’s. No later than one week before the feedback meeting, the reviewers will receive the most up-to-date version of the application including the applicant’s CV and list of publications with a link to the grant call of the instrument in question and assessment criteria.

Feedback is given to the applicant orally at a meeting which lasts for approximately one hour. The preliminary assessor acts as a facilitator or chairman. The reviewer’s task is to give constructive and specific suggestions for how to improve  each part of the application taking into consideration the assessment criteria of the instrument in question.

Contact persons

The departments have chosen a contact person who continuously nominates potential applicants for the different instruments in order to initiate the internal peer review. The contact persons are:

  • Helena Skyt Nielsen (ECON)
  • Ole Windahl (LAW)
  • Pernille Kallehave (MGMT)
  • Helene Helboe Pedersen (PS)
  • Kirsten Pedersen (PSY)