OneDrive is the place where you store your own personal files. They are stored safely in the cloud, and you always have access to them from your PC, tablet and mobile.
With OneDrive, you can control who can see your files. You can give others access to your files, otherwise you are the only one who can access the files. When necessary, it is easy for you to share a document with others.
You and the person you have shared the file with can work on a document at the same time, and OneDrive will save all the changes you make. OneDrive can be used directly from your computer in Explorer or by downloading the app from office.com.
All employees at AU already have access to OneDrive and can start using it right away. In future, data from personal drives will be moved to OneDrive. You will receive more information well in advance. If you only have a few files on your personal drive, you can choose to move the files manually to OneDrive right away.
If you want to download the OneDrive app to your computer you can download it from office.com.
The process of moving files from personal drives to OneDrive was scheduled to begin in the spring of 2020. However, due to the corona crisis, it has been postponed to 2021.
You will receive an email with information about the process well in advance of the move.
If you have questions concerning this, please contact your local IT support team
Get an introduction to the basic functions in OneDrive and learn how to use it.
In this course, you will learn what OneDrive is and what it can be used for. You will also learn about the differences in relation to OneDrive for browsers, desktop and mobiles.
You can use OneDrive to share files and avoid attaching files to emails and having several versions of the same document stored in different folders.
If you forget the location of a shared file, you can easily find it.
You can find shared files by accessing OneDrive.
If the language setting is English, the function is called ‘Shared’.
OneDrive doesn't have to be an online programme. Many of the same features are available to the desktop version, so you get easy access to the smart features in OneDrive
If you delete a file or folder in OneDrive, fortunately there are good opportunities to restore them, and you can do a lot of it yourself.
First you should be aware that deleted files will be saved for 93 days, after which they will be permanently deleted. Therefore, you must respond within 93 days of the deletion – otherwise the files cannot be recreated.
To recreate files/folders, you must log on to office.com with your AU ID and access OneDrive through it. Here you will have access to the tools displayed in the guide
It is not possible to upload individual files to OneDrive of more than 250GB.
Be aware that this limitation only is for individual files that are being moved orsynchronized to OneDrive. Your total OneDrive library is allowed to exceed 250GB.
If you experience problems with individual files not being moved automatically when your files are moved from a personal drive (for example, U Drive) to OneDrive, you can manually move the files yourself.
AU has entered into a data processing agreement with Microsoft so that all employees can safely use the tools in Microsoft 365. However, we must be particularly attentive to classifying the data we are working with correctly, as special rules apply for processing, storing and sharing ordinary and sensitive personal data (GDPR) as well as confidential data.